The 4-Year-Old Burger: What on Earth Have We Been Eating?

Some of my fondest memories growing up are of my weekend trips with my dad to McDonald’s. I used to order a Happy Meal with a cheeseburger, fries, and a coke. I think I still have some of the nifty Fraggle Rock toys stowed away somewhere.

McDonalds Fraggle Cars

As I got older, I branched out to chicken fajitas, 20-piece chicken McNuggets, and even an occasional Big Mac. I always ordered fries however, as I proudly proclaimed that McDonald’s fries were my french fries of choice.

My “health makeover” – as I’ve just now decided to term my personal relevation and conversion to a healthier lifestyle of physical activity, spiritual connection, and whole, balanced nutrition – has since squelched this debauchery. But as I pass the Golden Arches, I still occasionally feel like I’m six years old, and I’m on my way to an afternoon of Happy Meals and playtime.

Since my health makeover, I’m much more aware of the fats and artificial ingredients that fast food, especially McDonald’s food, is loaded with. But I didn’t get the extent of it until I watched this video from diet.com:

It can’t be real food.

In response to accusations like this, McDonald’s has recently proudly proclaimed that they now “use 100% beef in every burger.”

My question is: What the &#!* was I eating in the first place?

No wonder my generation is so sick and obese.

Their website says, “We use 100% beef in every burger,” which has a whole different meaning than saying, “We use only 100% beef in our burgers” or “Our burgers are 100% beef.” My suspicion is that fillers and extenders are added to the 100% beef that cause the kind of “burger immortality” portrayed in this video.

And we’re feeding this stuff to our kids? Hm, maybe eating immortal burgers will make me and my kids immortal! eating fat, filler, and preservative-laden food isn’t good for us.

My response is: No duh.

By the way, I made an awesome power dinner tonight: grilled, all-natural grass-fed buffalo (from Fred Meyer, $6 for .94lbs), organic roasted sweet potatoes (from Whole Foods, $3 for 1.5lbs), and steamed kale (from Fred Meyer, less than $1 for 1 bunch).

The total cost per person? About $5. Time to cook? Only 30 minutes.

For less than the cost of a McDonald’s value meal, I had a healthy, homecooked meal. Yes, it took me 15 minutes longer than it would have taken me to get in the car and get through the drive-thru. Is 15 minutes of my time a price worthy to pay for my health?

My answer is: Abso-frickin’-lutely.

7 thoughts on “The 4-Year-Old Burger: What on Earth Have We Been Eating?

  1. Good point about the tricky use of “We use 100% beef in every burger!”

    The sad thing is how many families subsist on McDonalds, KFC, etc for most of their meals. Your dinner sounded so much more healthy and tasty–it would be a bargain at twice the price!

    • Thanks for stopping by Crabby! I’m a huge fan of your blog!

      I couldn’t believe it when I realized the meal I cooked last night was cheaper than a McDonald’s value meal, and more tasty too! Why would you choose that crap over a quality meal?

  2. Hi Trey! So a few months back, my husband and I were feeling scandalous, and we each decided to have a cheeseburger value meal and shared a 5-piece chicken nuggets. (We skipped the soda though, and went with unsweetened iced tea.) OMG, I will never do that again. First, I felt so heavy and groggy, and second, I woke up in the middle of the night with the worst stomach ache I’ve had in ages! My body is so not used to that stuff anymore. I’m glad I did it though, because I for sure won’t touch it again! That was one miserable night! 😦

    The chicken wraps are probably a better alternative, but if the cheese in the cheeseburger is immortal, ya gotta wonder if they’re doing something to their chicken too…

  3. I wonder about their chicken, too. I get their ceaser salad with the grilled chicken. No fries anymore, and no burgers for years and years.

    I saw a really old cheeseburger somewhere else on the internet a long while back. Just crazyness that it still looks like it was just made. I’d like to see a side by side of mcd’s and a real one grilled on the grill or stovetop for more comparison as well.

  4. Okay, tell me about their grilled chicken. I’m ready for it.

    Best thing about learning about food is the more you know how nasty it is, the less you want to eat it. Before I knew what hotdogs were, I’d eat them quite frequently. Now I’ll puke if I try eating one (actually did puke last time I tried to eat one). If I know what’s in the chicken, I’ll puke so I wont be able to eat it.

Leave a Reply

