5 Brothers and One of Their Million Sisters: My Journey to Block Vegas Part 3

Berkeley, her mom, my co-workers, and I make our way to the Axis Theater via a ride down the Jon elevator, I believe. It’s a fairly small theater, so there really are no bad seats in the house. We’re 200-level and Berkeley is 100-level. Again agreeing to meet up at the after party, she meanders with her mom down to the front while we make our way to the cheap seats. I push the jealousy down to the bottom of my core so I won’t notice it’s there and soak in the atmosphere. What I didn’t know was that my seats were absolutely perfect. You’ll see why in a second.

At about ten after, the lights dim, music begins, and those five silhouettes appear on stage. Man, that feeling doesn’t get old. The excitement and anticipation knowing that they’re up there, and they’re about to put on a kick-ass show.

Everyone rises to their feet, and so my co-workers do the same. Oops – don’t remember if I warned them that not one person would be sitting down…well, except maybe a husband or two who was unwillingly dragged along by his wife.

The guys of course get the show going great. Not much adlibbing or goofing off, but I expect that knowing that it’s the first show. “Crash,” “Remix,” “The Right Stuff,” etc. But it gets really exciting when “Block Party” comes on.

The guys had just run off stage, and I notice people looking to the right, holding cameras and phones up. Are they coming into the crowd? YES!

Then I see them come out into the walkway that divides the 100-level and 200-level. No wonder those ushers strategically placed themselves where they did.

And then I see Jordan. Right in front of my section. Girls immediately start swarming down to the front of our section. I was lucky enough to be in an aisle seat. So fuck it! I beeline it down there too!

I’m about three girls away from Jordan when I see him look in my direction, and for a second I think he’s looking right at me. But then a girl in front of me blows him a kiss, and he blows one back at her. To this day, I don’t know who he was originally looking at. I swear on my phone it looks like he’s looking at me, but who knows?

Then I see people swarming to the left. Joe is right there too! I swing around and start recording Joe with my phone. But when I turn around and see Jordan standing there, and notice that Joe has distracted so many girls from him, I immediately climb over someone’s leg to plant myself in an open spot just to the left of him on the other side of the divider.

“My Favorite Girl” is mixed with Britney’s “Bring the Action.” Pretty sweet mash up. I can’t believe I’m so close to Jordan Knight – my childhood and current celebrity crush – that I’m just standing there with a huge cheesy grin on my face, watching him dance while I hold my phone up to the side to record. Then he turns around and looks right at me – like right into my eyes – for three whole seconds.

Oh, be still my heart. Okay, so maybe it was only like two seconds, but it felt like an eternity as I replay it in my head in slow-mo.

edd0f800-4216-4823-9eff-734e9cf1675c_jpeg

He turns around and sings in the other direction. And then…he does it again! Swings around towards me, looks RIGHT INTO MY EYES for like three seconds (okay, maybe two), and this time smiles! *swoon* (Of course my camera goes blurry when he does this, so I can’t relive it over and over again on my phone. Dammit!)

The song closes in on the end, so Jordan walks away. Danny runs by and I reach out my hand for a high five. YES! I touched one of them! Woohoo!

The song ends, and I make my way back to my seat, all giddy. My co-workers are laughing about how they were like, “Where’s Julie?” “Um, I think she’s up there.” Duh, I was up there! How could I not be?

The rest of the concert goes on, and the guys end with the obligatory ballad to the fans, “I’ll Be Loving You Forever”, and the usual “Hangin’ Tough”.

We make our way upstairs to Gallery Nightclub and get into the club early enough to claim a decent spot. It’s my first after party, so I don’t really know what to expect. Only what another BH had told me over Facebook – that I shouldn’t expect anything but a good time. The guys might come out into the crowd, they might not. All of them might show, some might not.

I do notice that girls have perched themselves in the booths right in front of what appears to be a stage-like setup. So I find a spot on a ledge which is between a booth and a set of stairs, across the dance floor from the stage. My little spot is a skinny piece of ledge at the front of the C-shaped booth, so no one can stand to either side of me and potentially obstruct my view. I figure I can stand on the ledge, and I’d have a clear view of the guys (and vice versa, of course). Good move, Julie. Good move.

Berkeley joins us, as do Sacramento 1 and 2. I tell them about the “moment” I shared with Jordan during the concert, and they share in my excitement. I think veteran BHs find it endearing when new ones discover the excitement of their first encounter with the guys.

A couple hours and a heartfelt speech from Jenny McCarthy later, the guys walk through the crowd. I jump down from my ledge in time to brush Joe’s and Jon’s shoulders as they pass. YES! Touched three! Two more to go!

Donnie makes a speech, and the music starts thumping. The guys get the party started!

And then it happens. And I swear I’m not dreaming this. I have eyewitnesses. And if anyone saw this and has a different version of the story, please leave me with my version of this reality so I can die in ignorant bliss.

I’m dancing on my little ledge, and Jordan is dancing right across from me on the stage. He looks right at me, smiles this huge grin, nods at me while he’s dancing, and points right at me. RIGHT AT ME. For like three seconds…maybe two. I don’t know. Again, felt like an eternity in slow-mo.

Seriously, the way he looks at me is like he remembers me from our moment at the concert. Could be the bright orange romper I’m wearing. Bright colors are more memorable than drab ones, right? Glad I chose that outfit!

Maybe I’m making this up in my head, but I swear it happened, and again, if you saw this happen and you clearly saw that he was actually pointing at someone else, please let me have this lie to live. I do have it on camera, but of course when it happens, I’m so excited, my phone loses aim. Ugh!

So as he points at me, I point back at him, smile, and dance. Sacramento 1 grabs my leg (since she’s dancing on the floor), and says something like “Oh my god! Another Jordan moment!” And in the video on my phone when I play it back, I hear myself squeal in excitement, followed by a hearty “Fuck yeah!”

He’s still dancing across from me, and a brief moment happens again! During “California Love,” he makes a sweeping hand motion to my left (his right). Don’t know why, but I mirror his motion. And when I do, he looks at me, smiles, and laughs!

ec01b53d-0943-4453-b155-f3ae87c348e5_jpeg (1)

Wow. Three moments with Jordan Knight in one night. After that, the night is a blur. I’m too giddy to remember much else. I know my co-workers both leave super-early, and Sacramento 1 and 2, Berkeley, and I dance the night away. Sacramento 1 and 2 leave before Berkeley and I do to hit another bar. By the time we leave, all the guys have left, and people have started clearing out.

Satisfied with the night (at least I know I was satisfied), Berkeley and I make our way back up to our rooms, but not before taking more pictures with those awesome elevators.

 5061bda0-2d55-4317-ab05-edb86af0406c_jpeg(1)

My co-workers are snoring the night away as I creep inside. I go to my suitcase to change and stop right in front of it. Crap. I forgot to bring clothes to sleep in. I quickly weigh my options. Sleep naked? Don’t think my co-workers would appreciate that. Sleep in the clothes I’m wearing? Guess that’s my only option.

I slip into bed in my bright orange romper replaying my Jordan moments in my head as I drift off into dreamland.

One thought on “5 Brothers and One of Their Million Sisters: My Journey to Block Vegas Part 3

Leave a Reply

